The 8th Moniuszko Vocal Competition

2013 Edition

Portrait of Stanisław Moniuszko

The 8th International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition took place on 11–17 May 2013 under the auspices of Bogdan Zdrojewski, Poland’s Minister of Culture and National Heritage. 

330 young singers from all around the world applied to take part in the competition.  młodych śpiewaków z całego świata; 74 of them, representing 18 countries, qualified successfully. 

In 2013, for the first time, the competition had an important ambassador: the function of its president was taken, at Maria Fołtyn’s request, by Aleksandra Kurzak, one of the most distinguished contemporary singers and the competition’s 1998 winner. Thanks to Ms Kurzak’s efforts – and the Teatr Wielki’s contacts – the jury took an excellent, novel shape, gathering authorities that have a decisive impact on today’s music life thanks to their experience and role: managres of leading music institutions and festivals around the world, excellent teachers and singers.


  • Competition results

    Winners of the main prizes


    Female singers:

    1st prize: Olga Busuioc, soprano (Moldova)
    2nd prize: Giuseppina Bridelli, mezzo-soprano (Italy) 
    3rd prize: Anna Patalong, soprano (UK) 

    Male singers:

    1st prize: Anatoli Sivko, bass (Belarus)
    2nd prize: Pavel Piatrou, tenor (Belarus)
    3rd prize: Alexei Botnarciuc, bass (Moldova) 

    Special awards:

    Award of the Management of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera:
    A role in an opera production of the Teatr Wielki, preceeded with a necessary rehearsal period
    Anna Borucka, mezzo-soprano (Poland)
    Michał Partyka, baritone (Poland)

    Award of the Fryderyk Chopin Institute in Warsaw:
    Performance at the International Music Festival ‘Chopin and His Europe’
    Anatoli Sivko, bass (Bielarus)

    Award of the Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra:
    Performance with the Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra
    Anna Patalong, soprano (UK)

    Award of the Baltic Opera in Gdańsk  
    A role in the production of Moniuszko’s The Haunted Manor premiering in the 2013/14 season
    Anna Borucka, soprano (Poland) 

    Maria Fołtyn Award for the most promising Polish singer
    Award of the Mayor of Radom: a concert in Radom
    Anna Terlecka-Kierner, soprano (Poland) 

    Award of the Karol Namysłowski Symphony Orchestra in Zamość for the best Polish female singer 
    Performance with the orchestra in Zamość
    Joanna Moskowicz, soprano (Poland)

    Award of the Karol Namysłowski Symphony Orchestra in Zamość for the best Polish male singer 
    Performance with the orchestra in Zamość
    Łukasz Goliński, baritone (Poland) 

    Marcella Sembrich-Kochańska Award for the best female voice:
    USD 2000 funded by the Marcella Sembrich Memorial Association (USA)
    Olga Busuioc, soprano (Moldova)

    Jana and Edward Reszke Award for the best male singer  
    Award of the Kościuszko Foundation (USA): USD1500, funded by Ms Ann Cox Zagoreos
    Anatoli Sivko, bass (Belarus) 

    Jan Kiepura Award for the best performance of a Polish work
    Award of the Kościuszko Foundation (USA): USD1500, funded by Ms Ann Cox Zagoreos
    Łukasz Goliński, baritone (Poland) 

    Ada Sari Award for the best coloratura soprano:
    PLN5000 funded by the SOKÓŁ Małopolska Culture Centre in Nowy Sącz, organiser of the Ada Sari International Competition of Vocal Arts
    Joanna Moskowicz, soprano (Poland)

    Award of the Trubadur Polish Opera Lovers’ Club: 
    Alexei Botnarcius, bass (Moldova) 

    Award of the Monuszko Music Lovers Society for the best performance of an aria from  a Moniuszko opera:
    A statuette designed by Marian Konieczny 
    Olga Busuioc, soprano (Moldova) 

    Award of the Institute of Art of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the Liber Pro Arte Association:
    Faksymile editioon of the opera score of Halka in a new, unknown, version, for the best performance the best performance of an aria from Halka
    Olga Busuioc, soprano (Moldova)

  • The Jury

    The Jury and the Selection Panel


    Izabella Kłosińska 
    soprano, soloist of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    Didier de Cottignies 
    artistic director, Orchestre de Paris

    Tobias Oliver Hasan 
    casting and planning director, Staatsoper Hamburg 

    Peter Mario Katona 
    director of casting, Royal Opera House

    Bernd Loebe 
    general and artistic director, Oper Frankfurt

    Gianluca Macheda 
    director, IMG Artists

    Eytan Pessen 
    director, Semperoper Dresden

    Sebastian F. Schwarz 
    head of artistic administration and casting, Theater an der Wien
    general and artistic director, Kammeroper Wien

    Giampiero Sobrino 
    deputy artistic director, Arena di Verona

    Ilias Tzempetonidis 
    casting manager, Teatro alla Scala 

    Diane Zola 
    director of Artistic Administration, Houston Grand Opera

    Participants were selected by a selection panel, based on recordings and documents. The commission gathered: 
    Jolanta Żmurko-Kurzak soprano
    Agnieszka Rehlis mezzo-soprano
    Romuald Tesarowicz bas



To download

Competition Schedule

  • Opening, the draw

    • 1st stage

      Venue: Młynarski Hall, Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • 2nd stage

      Venue: Młynarski Hall, Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • 3rd stage

      Venue: Moniuszko Auditorium, Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • Winners’ concert, award ceremony