Special Concert: Chopin & Wagner

Charity concert for singer Jacek Janiszewski

The concert Chopin/Wagner is being held on the initiative of Waldemar Dąbrowski, director of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera, for our excellent colleague, exquisite singer, Jacek Janiszewski. The phenomenal bass, winner of the 1998 Moniuszko Competition (alongside Aleksandra Kurzak) has mainly been working in Germany for some time now. He has, nevertheless, appeared in a range of world premieres at the Teatr Wielki, singing Zbigniew in The Haunted Manor or Leporello in the much publicised production of Don Giovanni by Mariusz Treliński, to name just a few, as well as Dr. Grenvil in La Traviata and Bertrand in Iolanta by the same director. He took to the stage for the last time in December 2014, performing one of the leading roles in Verdi’s Luisa Miller in Aachen, Germany. Diagnosed with cancer, the artist is now fighting to recuperate and return on stage. To do that he needs costly rehabilitation. 

All the performers have donated their fees to support the singer. The line-up includes: Janusz Olejniczak, world-class pianist, juror of the International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competitions, and Tomasz Konieczny, Polish singer of international renown, appearing frequently in Wagner repertoire. The Orchestra of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera will be lead by Stefan Soltesz, who has stunned the Warsaw audience with the excellent conducting of Wagner’s Lohengrin (2014) and Strauss’s Salome (2016). 

If you would like to support Jacek Janiszewski, you may donate through the Polcanart Foundation: 

Bank BGŻ BNP Paribas: 56 2030 0045 1110 0000 0415 6420 (donations in Polish zloty)

Bank BGŻ BNP Paribas: EUR 97 2030 0045 3110 0000 0034 6790 (donations in euro)


Please put ‘Pomoc dal Jacka’ (Supporting Jacek) in the transaction’s details. 


1.    R. Wagner    Tristan und Isolde – Prelude / Liebestod
2.    F. Chopin      Piano concerto in F minor Op. 21


1.    R. Wagner    The Flying Dutchman – Overture
2.    R. Wagner    The Flying Dutchman – The Dutchman’s monologue from Act I
3.    R. Wagner    Parsifal – Amfortas’s monologue from Act I
4.    R. Wagner    Lohengrin - Prelude to Act III      
5.    R. Wagner    The Valkyrie – Wotan’s monologue from Act III


Stefan Soltesz – conductor
Tomasz Konieczny – bass-bariton
Janusz Olejniczak – piano

Orchestra of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera