Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi, Philip Glass, Armand Amar / Izadora Weiss

  • Part I

    30 min.

  • Intermission

    20 min.

  • Part II

    40 min.

Duration: 90 min

A limited number of lower-price tickets for Darkness are available at our box office. The holders will sit on cushions on the stage. 

Ballet in two parts
Libretto: Izadora Weiss
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi, Philip Glass, Armand Amar and Old French music

Izadora Weiss drew inspiration from Joseph Conrad’s novella Heart of Darkness. It is a story exploring the limits of cruelty, which shift when one person has power over another and can practise violence with impunity. In this production, violence is manifested in the relationship between a man and a woman. The choreographer is fascinated with the change that takes place in their relations when the woman stops being unanimous with her partner and starts rebelling. How is it that the wonderful promise of paradise from a man desiring fulfilment can turn into aggression, violence and humiliation? How is it that the suffering of a helpless victim can give someone intense pleasure, or help relieve their own fears and complexes? The unending domination of men over women, despite the progress of civilization and human rights, in many countries is a concealed form of slavery, when a woman is owned by a man. It has its brutal version in the world of sex. Darkness does not fall suddenly. It surrounds our bright spaces, waiting to gradually take over our lives forever.



Polish National Ballet

Music from recordings


  • Patron of Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera

  • Partners of Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera

  • Media patrons of Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera

  • Logo Gazeta Wyborcza
  • Logo Co jest Grane 24
  • Time is measured by