Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi, Philip Glass, Armand Amar / Izadora Weiss

The performance of Darkness on 15 November has been moved to 10 October 2017. More information 

Ballet in two parts
Libretto: Izadora Weiss
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi, Philip Glass, Armand Amar and Old French music

‘What did I stay with him all that time?’ asks Leslie Morgan Steiner in her lecture, the author of books on violence in relationships. ‘Despite the fact that he would put a loaded gun to my head, pushed me off the stairs, spilled coffee dregs on my head when I was on my way to a job interview – I never thought of myself as a victim at the time. I believed I was a strong woman in a relationship with an unhappy man, and only my love would help him overcome his demons.’ Izadora Weiss, inspired by Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, takes on as her subject the dynamics of violence in relationships between men and women. The encounter of emotion and ethics, passion and inner moral compass is the main subject of Weiss’ dance shows. She sets her choreography to the music of composers from various periods – from Saint-Colombe and Marin Marais to Leszek Możdżer. Her works include Phaedra, Death and the Maiden, A Midsummer Night’s Dream and The Rite of Spring. Her namesake, Isadora Duncan, once said: ‘I could dance that chair’ – similarly Izadora Weiss can find inspiration in a painting by Vermeer (The Milkmaid) or a poem by Wisława Szymborska (as was the case in her show Light).



Polish National Ballet

Music from recordings


  • Patron of Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera

  • Partners of Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera

  • Partner of Polish National Ballet

  • Media patrons of Teatr Wielki - Polish National Opera

  • Logo Gazeta Wyborcza
  • Logo Co jest grane 24
  • Time is measured by