La Folle Journée de Varsovie: ARCHDUKE TRIO (20)

Chamber concert

    Duration: 45 min.

    Tickets go on sale on 1 September 2021, 11 a.m.


    Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 97 Archduke

    I. Allegro moderato
    II. Scherzo (Allegro)
    III. Andante cantabile ma però con moto. Poco piu adagio
    IV. Allegro moderato – Presto


    Trio Owon:

    Olivier Charlier – violin
    Emmanuel Strosser – piano
    Sung-Won Yang – cello

    Archduke Trio, Op. 97, is one of over a dozen compositions Beethoven dedicated to his friend, student, and patron, Archduke Rudolph of Austria. They include pieces such as Missa Solemnis, the Fourth and Fifth Piano Concertos, and the piano sonata, Op. 81a, Les Adieux, written in response to the Archduke’s departure from Vienna during the siege of the city by Napoleon’s forces in 1809. The premiere of the Trio was one of Beethoven’s final concert performances as a pianist. Structured in four movements, the trio’s grand concept makes it almost a symphony for violin, cello, and piano.

    • Organiser

    • Co-organisers

    • Patrons of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • Partners of the Opera Academy