La Folle Journée de Varsovie: TA-TA-TA-TAAAM! The Chamber Fifth (9, 17)

Chamber concert

    Duration: 50 min.

    Tickets go on sale on 1 September 2021, 11 a.m.


    Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67, arrangement for piano quartet (violin, cello, piano four-hands), by Carl Burchard

    I. Allegro con brio
    II. Andante con moto

    III. Scherzo: Allegro

    IV. Finale: Allegro

    Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25, arrangement for two pianos by Rikuya Terashima

    I. Allegro con brio
    II. Larghetto
    III. Gavotte: Non troppo allegro

    IV. Finale: Molto vivace


    Izabella Szałaj-Zimak – violin

    Michał Pepol – cello

    Lutosławski Piano Duo: Emilia Sitarz, Bartłomiej Wąsik

    No festival devoted to Beethoven would not be complete without the most famous motif in the history of music! According to his biographer Anton Schindler, Beethoven described the rhythm as ‘the sound of fate knocking on the door’. Although this story is now believed to be apocryphal, the Symphony No. 5 carries such an emotional charge and a narrative potential that ever since the piece’s premiere at the Theater an der Wien in December 1808, there has been a need to explore it in more depth.  It has been a challenge for composers in the past and the present as evidenced by numerous paraphrases and arrangements. One of the arrangements, for piano four-hands accompanied by violin and cello, was created by Carl Burchard (1818–96). The program will be complemented by Sergei Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony in an arrangement for two pianos, a particular favorite of Martha Argerich.

    • Organiser

    • Co-organisers

    • Patrons of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • Partners of the Opera Academy