La Folle Journée de Varsovie: THE CHAMBER FOURTH (12)

Chamber concert

    Duration: 40 min.

    Tickets go on sale on 1 September 2021, 11 a.m.


    Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58

    I. Allegro moderato
    II. Andante con moto
    III. Rondo: Vivace


    Jonas Vitaud – piano

    Sinfonia Varsovia Camerata:
    Adam Siebers – violin
    Karolina Gutowska – violin
    Mateusz Doniec – viola
    Tomasz Rosiński – viola
    Krystyna Wiśniewska – cello

    It is easy to recognize Piano Concerto No. 4: the orchestra entry is unusually preceded by a chordal introduction of the solo piano. Only after that comes the traditional orchestral exposition of themes. The light, cheerful and playful rondo-finale is separated from the first movement by a meditative Andante played by the piano in a dialogue with the strings. The unique and distinctive style of the concerto, often overshadowed by the Emperor Concerto can be better appreciated when juxtaposed with Fifth and Sixth Symphonies, which were completed at the same time and were premiered together at Beethoven’s legendary benefit concert in December 1808. The chamber arrangement for piano and string quintet, made by the composer himself, enhances the intimate character of this luminous piece.

    • Organiser

    • Co-organisers

    • Patrons of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • Partners of the Opera Academy