La Folle Journée de Varsovie: THE GROSSE FUGE (14)

Chamber concert

    Duration: 55 min.

    • Free passes available on concert day

    Tickets go on sale on 1 September 2021, 11 a.m.


    String Quartet in B-flat major Op. 133 Grosse Fuge (1826)

    String Quartet in F major, Op. 18 No. 1 (1826)
    I. Allegro con brio
    II. Adagio affetuoso ed appassionato
    III. Scherzo: Allegro molto
    IV. Allegro


    Meccore String Quartet:
    Wojciech Koprowski – violin
    Aleksandra Bryła – violin
    Michał Bryła – viola
    Marcin Mączyński – cello

    Beethoven wrote string quartets throughout his entire life. He composed 16 pieces, beginning with six quartets from Opus 18 (1798–1800), going through three quartets dedicated to Ambassador Razumovsky from Opus 59 (1806–14), Harp from Opus 74 (1809), Serioso from Opus 95 (1810), and ending with five ‘late quartets’ (1824–27). The Meccore String Quartet brings together one of the first works of the genre, String Quartet No. 1, Op. 18, and the legendary Grosse Fuge, Op. 133, which was recognized in the 20th century as Beethoven’s greatest achievement. 

    • Organiser

    • Co-organisers

    • Patrons of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • Partners of the Opera Academy