La Folle Journée de Varsovie: TRIPLE CONCERTO (18)

Chamber concert

    Duration: 60 min.

    Tickets go on sale on 1 September 2021, 11 a.m.


    Beethoven for 12 saxophones

    Egmont Overture, Op. 84

    Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano in C major, Op. 56
    I. Allegro

    II. Largo

    III. Rondo alla polacca


    Liya Petrova – violin
    Aurélien Pascal – cello
    Jonas Vitaud – piano
    Bassem Akiki – conductor
    Sinfonia Varsovia
    Paweł Gusnar – artistic direction
    Warsaw Saxophone Orchestra

    Beethoven composed symphonies, concertos, piano sonatas, and quartets. He is most closely associated with the musical forms he redefined. However, it is worth remembering that Beethoven’s first opus is a set of piano trios. Inherited from Haydn and Mozart, this form accompanied Beethoven through his whole life and must have been important to him, as in his Triple Concerto from 1804 he gave voice to as many as three soloists – violin, cello and piano. In this rarely performed piece, the Polish listener may hear the familiar rhythm of the polonaise, often mistaken for a bolero, which is one more reason to get familiarized with the Triple Concerto. The concert will open with Paweł Gusnar’s spectacular 12-person Warsaw Saxophone Orchestra performing a medley of Beethoven themes.

    • Organiser

    • Co-organisers

    • Patrons of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

    • Partners of the Opera Academy