La magia della musica italiana con il violino di Paganini


You may submit your health declaration online (not earlier than 48 hours before the curtain-up) or in hardcopy (when entering the opera house). 

Please arrive to the opera house earlier than you normally would. 

COVID-19 Safety Measures

In line with the latest Covid restrictions, our capacity has been reduced from 50 to 30%. The limit does not apply to persons who will present one of the four documents listed below when entering the opera house:

  • EU digital Covid certificate
  • proof of Covid vaccination
  • proof of negative Covid test (conducted by trained personnel; valid for 24 hours) 
  • proof of recovery (issued by trained personnel)

Please have the document at the ready and present it to our staff along with your ticket.


Gioachino Rossini
Overture to Barbiere di Siviglia

Niccolò Paganini
Violin Concerto No. 1

Gioachino Rossini
Overture to Guillaume Tell
Chorus ‘Quel jour serein le ciel présage!’ from Act 1 of Guillaume Tell

Pietro Mascagni
Intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana
Chorus ‘A casa, a casa…’ from Cavalleria Rusticana

Giacomo Puccini
‘Coro a bocca chiusa’ from Act 2 of Madama Butterfly

Giuseppe Verdi
Overture to Nabucco
Chorus ‘Va pensiero’ from Nabucco
Overture to Forza del destino
Chorus and Ballet ‘Gloria all’Egitto’ from Aida



Orchestra and Chorus of the Polish National Opera


The Sivori violin which is being brought to Poland was made by Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume in 1834. Paganini played it for seven years, before presenting the instrument to his favoured student, Camillo Sivori, who left it in his will to the city of Genoa. Currently, it is part of the collection of the Musei di Strada Nuova in Genoa together with Paganini’s ‘il Cannone’.

Paganini used the violin solely to play his own compositions, including 24 Caprices for Solo Violin, six of which were transcribed for piano by Liszt and Schumann. The theme of one – Caprice No. 24 in A minor, was used by Brahms, Rachmaninoff, or Lutosławski in their variations.

Initially, Paganini performed only in Italy, however, with time his successes reverberated all over Europe. He set off abroad in 1828. He played in Austria, Germany, and France. He reached Poznań and Warsaw, where he performed on 24 May 1829 together with Karol Lipiński during the coronation of tsar Nicolas I as the king of Poland. In 1831 he played in Paris, the UK, and Ireland.

As a composer of violin music, Paganini significantly developed its texture, using double stops, accords, fast figurations, scordatura (nonstandard tuning), combinations of bowing and pizzicato, (single or double) flageolets, and play on the G string.

He left behind six violin concertos: in E-flat major, B minor (whose last movement, La Campanella, is also known from Liszt’s piano transcription), D minor, A minor, and E minor; as well as numerous cycles of variations.

  • In cooperation with

  • Partners of the event


  • Patrons of the Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

  • Partners of the Opera Academy

  • Partners of Teatr Wielki – Polish National Opera

  • Technological partner

  • Media patrons